jQuery UI Widgets Forums Plugins Data Adapter mapChar property should be mapchar in documentation

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Peter Stoev 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

  • jondavis9898
    Participant

    Hello –

    I just downloaded your widget library for evaluation. After spending several hours trying to get a dataadapter to work correctly with mapped data, I came across the post at http://www.jqwidgets.com/community/topic/optional-data-fields-mapping/#post-51081 indicating the mapChar doesn’t work, and that the correct property name is mapchar (uppercase C vs. lowercase c). In reviewing the code, internally the property is ‘mapChar’ but the source parameter properties evaluate against mapchar.

    That post was made over 2 years ago and the documentation is still incorrect.

    Could you please update your documentation so that others don’t waste their time like I have done.


    Peter Stoev
    Keymaster

    Hi jondavis9898,

    Thank you for the feedback!

    We will consider how to proceed with this one for future versions.

    Best Regards,
    Peter Stoev

    jQWidgets Team
    http://www.jqwidgets.com


    jondavis9898
    Participant

    Hello Peter –

    Thank you for the reply. While you are considering how to proceed with future versions, could you please update your current documentation to accurately reflect the way the current version of the product behaves? If you then decide to add support for mapChar in a future version (you won’t be able to remove support for mapchar otherwise you would break customers existing code), you can update your documentation again.

    Thank you.


    Peter Stoev
    Keymaster

    Hi jondavis9898,

    The documentation is fine. Sorry, that you found an issue in our documentation about this minor thing, but the docs are actual.

    Best Regards,
    Peter Stoev

    jQWidgets Team
    http://www.jqwidgets.com


    jondavis9898
    Participant

    Peter –

    I’m not sure why you feel the documentation is fine as it is incorrect. It specifies a property of mapChar but mapChar does not work. The correct property to use is mapchar (lowercase ‘c’). If you use mapChar (uppercase ‘C’) the mapping will not work if you are using something other than the default of ‘>’.

    I would hope that jqxWidgets values your existing and potential new customers time enough to correct the mistake in your documentation – regardless of how major or minor it is.


    Peter Stoev
    Keymaster

    Hi jondavis9898,

    There are several approaches regarding this one – update the code to match the documentation or update the documentation to match the code. Obviously, we choose to update the code, not the documentation. So for now, we will skip to change mapChar to mapchar in all places we have it.

    Best Regards,
    Peter Stoev

    jQWidgets Team
    http://www.jqwidgets.com


    jondavis9898
    Participant

    Hello Peter –

    Understood that you are going to be changing your code, however your current documentation does not accurately reflect your current version and until you change your code, your customers will attempt to use the wrong property name. Additionally, I would hope that you aren’t just changing your code from mapchar to mapChar but rather adding mapChar in order to support both mapChar and mapchar since customers that have used mapchar will have their code break if you just change the property name.

    Either way, the difficulty I’ve had in getting this issue resolved provides me enough information to determine that I’ll be purchasing a different UI library. Very disappointed that you’ve known about this problem for 2 years and haven’t fixed it and even when informed again about it, it’s taken 6 posts to confirm you’ll address it.


    Peter Stoev
    Keymaster

    Hi jondavis9898,

    Ok. It’s your choice. You are writing about 2 years issue in the documentation. Well this is logged in 7 April this year. It’s not logged and not confirmed to be an issue 2 years ago from anyone in our company. In addition, there are multiple examples available which show how this works and these are all available online, too. Sorry, that in a particular place in our documentation it is a camel case, not lower case. Yes, we do have things that can be improved and we do it and prioritize every task. This one is minor and will be resolved in some future release of jQWidgets as it is already in the bug tracking system. Of course we avoid breaking changes so this answers your comment about simply replacing mapchar with mapChar in our code.

    Best Regards,
    Peter Stoev

    jQWidgets Team
    http://www.jqwidgets.com


    jondavis9898
    Participant

    Hello Peter –

    As I mentioned in my original post in this issue, your team was originally made aware of this issue 2 years ago in the post at http://www.jqwidgets.com/community/topic/optional-data-fields-mapping/#post-51081. The April 7th date that you mention was likely a result of my posting this issue. I’m glad to hear that you now have an official bug as a result of my post, however there should have been a bug logged & fixed 2 years ago when you were first made aware of the problem.

    I’ve learned everything I need to know regarding your product and support via this conversation. Best of luck to you and the company.


    Peter Stoev
    Keymaster

    Best of luck to you, too.

    Best Regards,
    Peter Stoev

    jQWidgets Team
    http://www.jqwidgets.com

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.